Independent Press Standards Organisation

Independent Press Standards Organisation Appointment Panel

Lord Phillips of Worth Matravers (Chairman of the Foundation Group) and Sir Hayden Phillips (Chairman of the Appointment Panel to select the Board of the Independent Press Standards Organisation – IPSO) are pleased to announce that the following have agreed to serve on the Appointment Panel:

  • Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood (a former Justice of the Supreme Court)
  • Paul Horrocks (former Editor in Chief of the Manchester Evening News and former President of the UK Society of Editors)
  • Dame Denise Platt (former Chair of the Commission for Social Care Inspection) and
  • John Witherow (the Editor of The Times and former editor of the Sunday Times).

Sir Hayden Phillips said:

“The first task for me and for my colleagues on the Appointment Panel is to select the Chair of the Board of IPSO. Once appointed Chair Designate, he or she will join the Panel to help us select the other Directors of the Board. When we advertise for the appointment of Directors we will also seek candidates to serve on the IPSO Complaints Committee. While these latter appointments are not for the Panel to make but are for the Board of IPSO itself, this process will enable the Board to have available a pool of possible candidates for the Complaints Committee when the Board comes into being. My objective is that the IPSO Board will have been created and be ready to act by 1 May 2014.

"I hope that a wide range of candidates of quality and experience will come forward to serve on such an important new national institution”.

08 January 2014

All rights reserved.