New IPSO Board members

The Independent Press Standards Organisation (IPSO) has announced two additions to its Board, one lay member and one industry member who has recent senior experience in the national mass market newspapers sector.

Ruth Sawtell has a wealth of experience as a board member in regulatory bodies and in organisations that handle consumer complaints. She is currently a board member at the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman and at PhonepayPlus, the regulator of premium rate telephone services. Ruth was also a Council member at the Advertising Standards Authority.

Trevor Kavanagh brings decades of knowledge of the industry from his time with The Sun as the paper's political editor from 1983-2006 and subsequently as chief leader writer until 2008.

Ms Sawtell and Mr Kavanagh were appointed by the independent IPSO Appointments Panel, chaired by Sir Hayden Phillips.  Ruth replaces Ros Altmann who stepped down from the Board following her appointment as Pensions Minister at the Department for Work and Pensions and Trevor replaces Bill Newman whose term of office came to an end in October. They have both joined the Board with immediate effect.

IPSO Chairman, Sir Alan Moses, said:

“I am absolutely delighted that IPSO’s Board has been strengthened yet further by the appointment of Ruth Sawtell whose experience of regulation in various fields will provide invaluable guidance and support as IPSO develops an effective role as independent regulator of the press. Trevor Kavanagh has an unparalleled reputation as a political journalist. His membership of the Board demonstrates the value and importance distinguished journalists attribute to IPSO.”