Press regulator announces all major publishers stay on board for second term

IPSO has today announced that all major publishers in membership – which includes most national and almost all local newspapers and magazines – have chosen to remain part of the IPSO system of independent, voluntary self-regulation for the next five years.

Under IPSO’s regulations, regulated publishers must sign up to legally enforceable contracts which oblige them to follow the standards set out in the Editors’ Code, comply with IPSO’s rulings, submit an annual compliance report and have proper complaints handling processes in place.

The announcement comes on the fifth anniversary of the regulator’s establishment.

Chief Executive of IPSO, Matt Tee, said:

“Five years ago, few would have believed that we would make such determined progress in establishing effective regulation of the press. We set out to protect the public and bolster freedom of expression, and I am confident that IPSO is now achieving far more than most thought possible.

“It is pleasing that all major publishers have chosen to remain part of IPSO – making a commitment to robust independent regulation and demonstrating that in an era of increasing disinformation and ‘fake news’, IPSO membership is a mark of quality, responsible journalism”.



Of the 83 publishers signed up to IPSO, two (Citywire and Connect) have indicated they will leave after the first term.

2. For any enquiries, please contact Vikki Julian, Communications Manager.