Appointments Panel

The Appointments Panel appoints IPSO’s Chairman and Board and the independent members of the Editors’ Code of Practice Committee.

Panel members

Lord Triesman chairs the IPSO Appointments Panel. Lord Triesman is a Labour Peer, former National Chair of the Football Association and former government minister in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), Department of Universities, Innovation and Skills (DIUS), and Business (BIES).

Catherine Steele is Vodafone’s Group Director of Corporate Communications where she leads a team of communications professionals who specialise in internal and external communications including media relations, executive communications, content creation, digital and social media, employee communications, and issues and crisis management. Prior to joining Vodafone, Catherine held senior communications global and country roles in the pharmaceutical and biotech industry with Roche, Novartis, and Biogen.

Chris Evans has been editor of The Telegraph since 2014. He was head of news at The Telegraph from 2007 to 2014. Before The Telegraph, he worked at The Daily Mail (1995 – 2007) and at South West News Service in Bristol (1992 – 1995). He is a graduate of Brasenose College, Oxford.

Geraldine is a steadfast supporter of trustworthy journalism in the UK. For thirteen years she was executive Chairman of the KM Media Group, a long standing, innovative family company which became the country’s first integrated multimedia organisation providing news through online, TV, radio, newspapers and other products. She is currently a non executive director for the PA Media Group, a Kent Ambassador, Trustee of Canterbury Cathedral, Patron for the Heart of Kent Hospice and a Deputy Lieutenant for Kent. She has also been president of the Newspaper Society (the second female to ever do this) as well as a director for the NMA, the RadioCentre and Iliffe Media Group. In 2020 she was awarded the OBE for services to local media in Kent.

Lord Faulks is the Chairman of IPSO and sits on the IPSO Appointments Panel. Lord Faulks joined IPSO in 2020 following a long career as a barrister and having served as Justice Minister from 2013-2016.

Victor Olowe is a governance consultant, board reviewer and a former Chief Executive of the Council for Licensed Conveyancers with expertise in professional regulation, consumer protection, risk management and board governance.
Victor is currently a Non-Executive Director/Member in a number of organisations related to regulation and raising professional standards, including:
• Chair of the CGMA Examination Board at CIMA/AICPA
• Chair of Water UK’s Independent Sewerage and Water Adoption Panels
• Chair of the Quality Assurance Scheme Committee at the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries.