Complaints Committee

About the Committee

The Complaints Committee judges complaints relating to potential breaches of the Editors’ Code and decides on what a newspaper or magazine should do if the Code has been breached, including whether or not to find that publication of a correction or critical ruling is needed to remedy a breach of the Code, and where this should appear. The Committee has 12 members including Chairman Lord Edward Faulks, who is the Committee's Chair. The majority of the members are independent and have no connections with the newspaper and magazine industry. The others have recent senior experience in the newspaper or magazine industries but are not currently serving editors. 

IPSO picture

Lord Faulks

Chair of the Committee

Lord Faulks has a long career as a barrister specialising in claims arising from the Human Rights Act, professional and clinical negligence, personal injury, education, police claims and public law. He became a QC in 1996. He was appointed to the House of Lords in 2010 and served as Justice Minister from 2013-2016. He now sits as an unaffiliated peer.

IPSO picture

Andrew Pettie

Deputy Chair of the Committee

Andrew Pettie has worked as a journalist and editor for newspapers, magazines and publishers including the Telegraph Media Group where he was the Executive Head of Culture, EMAP, the BBC and Encyclopaedia Britannica. He is now a consultant, contributing editor and writer.

IPSO picture

Nazir Afzal OBE

Nazir Afzal was Chief Crown Prosecutor for the North West of England and has prosecuted some of the UK’s most high profile cases, including child sex abuse in Rochdale. More recently, he has worked as an international expert on extremism and radicalisation and is a member of the Manchester Mayor’s Commission for Cohesion. Nazir was awarded an OBE for his work with the CPS and involvement with local communities.

IPSO picture

Andy Brennan QPM

Andy Brennan was a Deputy Director in the National Crime Agency and prior to this, a senior police officer in the West Yorkshire Police where he held positions as the Head of the Homicide and Major Enquiry Teams and Head of Professional Standards and Counter Corruption Unit. He was awarded the Queens Police Medal for services to policing and the public in 2012.

IPSO picture

Tristan Davies

Tristan Davies is the former Editor of the Independent on Sunday, Executive Editor of the Sunday Times, Deputy Editor of the Mail on Sunday and Editorial Director of Mail+. In his 35 years at national newspapers he has worked across news, features, digital and design. He now works as a print and digital media consultant.

IPSO picture

David Hutton

David Hutton spent 22 years as a senior leader in secondary schools, initially as Deputy Head and then as Head. He represented fellow headteachers on Suffolk’s Schools’ Forum, chaired the Governing Body of a Special School, and was a founder member of the Ipswich Opportunity Area Board. He is also a qualified Ofsted Inspector.

IPSO picture

Alastair Machray

Alastair Machray is the former Editor of The Liverpool Echo and Editor-in-Chief of Trinity Mirror Merseyside, Cheshire and North Wales. He spent 25 years as a daily newspaper editor, making him the longest-serving daily editor in the UK. He has worked in both national and regional newsrooms, winning numerous awards, including, in 2020, an MBE for services to local journalism. He lives on The Wirral and now runs a media consulting business.

IPSO picture

Helyn Mensah

Helyn Mensah is a barrister specialising in intellectual property law at 33 Bedford Row chambers. She has experience in a broad range of intellectual property matters and has advised a number of well-known domestic and international clients. In addition to her practice, Helyn sits as a member of the Strategic Governance Panel to the new English non-household water retail market, and chairs its General Data Protection Regulation Committee.

IPSO picture

Asmita Naik

Asmita Naik is an independent consultant on international development and human rights following a career at the United Nations in Geneva in the 1990s. She serves as a magistrate and on various professional regulatory bodies. She co-authored a 2002 landmark report which put the issue of sexual exploitation by aid workers on the global agenda and has been involved in measures to strengthen oversight of the aid sector since then.

IPSO picture

Mark Payton

Mark Payton is an editor and journalist with 30 years of specialist publishing experience. He was editorial director at Haymarket Consumer Media and now works as compliance consultant for the Trust Project, an international consortium of news organisations working towards greater transparency and accountability in the global news industry.

IPSO picture

Allan Rennie

Allan Rennie is Honorary Professor of Journalism at the University of Stirling and Non Executive Director of NHS Forth Valley. In a 30-year career in local and national newspapers, he edited the Clydebank Post, Daily Record, Sunday Mail, served as Editorial Development Director of Trinity Mirror Nationals and was managing director of Media Scotland. Allan is a member of the Scottish Government’s short-life working group on public interest journalism.

IPSO picture

Miranda Winram

Miranda Winram is Chair of the IPSO Readers’ Panel and former Head of Strategy and Insight and Board Member of Forest Enterprise. She was a non-exec member of the Nursing and Midwifery Council’s Fitness to Practice committee and is currently a public appointee to the Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Committee for the North East.