Lord Faulks KC re-appointed as Chairman of the Independent Press Standards Organisation

Edward Lord Faulks KC has been re-appointed to serve a further three years as Chairman of IPSO – the Independent Press Standards Organisation

Lord Faulks has chaired the organisation since 2020 and has been re-appointed for a second three-year term. 

The appointment was undertaken by the IPSO Appointment Panel. 

Lord Faulks has a long career as a barrister specialising in claims arising from the Human Rights Act, professional and clinical negligence, personal injury, education, police claims and public law. He was made a KC in 1996. He was appointed to the House of Lords in 2010 and served as Justice Minister from 2013 to 2016. Lord Faulks sits as an unaffiliated peer in the House of Lords. 

Commenting on his re-appointment, Lord Faulks said: 

“Independent regulation can support the public and freedom of expression by raising editorial standards and providing a means of redress for editorial shortcomings, when they happen. 

“I am pleased to be re-appointed as Chairman of IPSO for a further three years. The media landscape is transforming. The adoption of digital technologies has had a fundamental impact on journalism. Online competition is now a significant challenge to editorial standards. I am confident that IPSO’s new strategic approach will ensure it is flexible and relevant to address the complex challenges facing us in the years ahead by being more accessible, responsive, and transparent.” 

The Chair of the Appointment Panel, Lord Triesman said: 

“Edward Faulks has led IPSO over a tumultuous three years. He has guided IPSO as it has responded to the challenge of the pandemic and the changes to the media landscape we are witnessing. 

“With IPSO-regulated publications now reaching more people than ever across a growing number of platforms, the responsibility of the press regulator to uphold freedom of expression and protect the public has never been more crucial. Edward is an excellent and principled leader to meet this challenge.” 

Notes to Editors: 

For more information, please contact:
John Davidson – john.davidson@ipso.co.uk 

The IPSO Appointment Panel was chaired by the Right Honourable Lord Triesman with Geraldine Allinson OBE, Chris Evans, Victor Olowe and Catherine Steele. 

Published 16 February 2023