Readers' and Journalists' Advisory Panels


About the Readers’ Advisory Panel

The Readers’ Advisory Panel is made up of seven people who are enthusiastic readers of a variety of newspapers and magazines and who do not work in the journalism industry. The panel meets three times a year and provides a perspective on press regulation from the point of view of the general public.

The panel have read early drafts of some of the information leaflets IPSO has produced for members of the public, and their feedback has been valuable in shaping this information. Meetings of the Readers’ Advisory Panel have also featured discussions on a range of topics including trust in news reporting and the IPSO mark.

The current Chair is Miranda Winram, a member of the Complaints Committee, who is invited to address IPSO’s Board at least once a year with an update on the panel’s work.

The current panel members:

  • Sarah Barraclough is the managing director of a care home in Bradford

  • Martin Cushen practices as an independent Mental Health Act hospital manager and has extensive experience in housing management, homelessness and mental health services

  • Andrew Dickson is a researcher at the Lokahi Foudation

  • Denise Milani is a former director of business change and diversity for the Metropolitan Police Service

  • Jamil Tuki works as a commercial graduate at AB Agri (part of Associated British Foods plc), and also sits on the Alumni Leadership Board of the social mobility charity, The Sutton Trust

  • Judy Upton is a writer who has written a large number of plays for both stage and radio

About the Journalists' Advisory Panel

The Journalists’ Advisory Panel is made up of ten people who are current or retired journalists, from a range of publications including national newspapers, regional newspapers and magazines. They meet four times a year to discuss a variety of issues facing the industry, share experiences and to inform the guidance IPSO produces for journalists and editors.

The panel has provided useful feedback and suggestions on early drafts of IPSO’s guidance on a range of subjects and they discuss a variety of topics about journalism including the Editors’ Code, and the factors which influence editorial standards.

The current Chair is Ruth Sawtell, a member of the Board, who is invited to address IPSO’s Board at least once a year with an update on the panel’s work.

Current panel members:

  • Chris Burn is a features writer at the Yorkshire Post

  • David Butcher is the Deputy TV Editor for Radio Times

  • Aasma Day formerly worked for the Lancashire Post and is now North of England correspondent for Huffington Post

  • Tom Rowland is a former journalist whose phone was hacked

  • Dan Townend is a news editor for the Daily Express and an Associate Professor at Kingston University

  • Angela Wormald is Head of News at The Sunday Mirror and Sunday People

  • Laura Cole is Deputy Editor of That’s Life!

  • Mark Russell is the Managing Editor for Vogue.