Our Board

Twelve Board members (selected by the Appointments Panel) are responsible for our strategic oversight. The majority have no connections with the newspaper and magazine industry. Others have recent senior experience and offer expertise in the area of press standards

The role of the board.

IPSO’s Board is responsible for the oversight, vision and strategic direction of IPSO. They monitor performance and provide advice, challenge and support. They are responsible for appointing the Complaints Committee, but do not make decisions on complaints. The Board has 12 members including IPSO’s Chairman. All are selected by the Appointments Panel. The majority have no connections with the newspaper and magazine industry. Others have recent senior experience and offer expertise in the area of press standards. 

Board members

Lord Faulks


Lord Faulks has a long career as a barrister specialising in claims arising from the Human Rights Act, professional and clinical negligence, personal injury, education, police claims and public law. He became a KC in 1996. He was appointed to the House of Lords in 2010 and served as Justice Minister from 2013-2016. He now sits as an unaffiliated peer.


Sarah Lee

Deputy Chair

Sarah has spent most of her career as a partner Slaughter and May, where she was Head of the Disputes and Investigations Group. She is now a Senior Consultant at the firm alongside her roles as a Non-Executive Director of the Financial Ombudsman Service, a Commissioner of the Judicial Appointments Commission and a Governor of the Cripplegate Foundation.


Karen Barnes

Karen Barnes is former editorial director of delicious. magazine. Before joining Eye to Eye Media, she worked for Hearst UK as head of the Good Housekeeping Institute and Associate Editor for Good Housekeeping magazine.


Matt Brown

Matt Brown runs TFL’s media and government relations, stakeholder engagement and corporate communications. He previously worked for the Mayor of London's Press Office, the children's charity Barnardo's, and the online political think tank openDemocracy. He is a Fellow of the Public Relations and Communications Association, and in 2020, was awarded the Mark Mellor Award for Outstanding Contribution to the PR Industry.


Shrenik Davda

With almost 40 years of emerging markets banking experience for institutions such as JPMorgan and Deutsche Bank, Shrenik currently serves on the Supervisory Board of Nova Ljubljanska Banka, operating in south-eastern Europe and is Commissioner and Board Member of the Charity Commission for England and Wales.


Charles Garside

Charles Garside is a supporter of the Journalists Charity and a trustee of the Journalists’ church, St Bride’s Fleet Street. A journalist for over fifty years, he was Editor in Chief at The European and news edited both the London Evening News and the Evening Standard. At various times he held roles at The Sun, Times, Daily Mirror, and Sunday Express; and was Assistant Editor of the Daily Mail.


Eddie Gray OBE

Eddie Gray spent forty years in the Pharmaceutical and Biotechnology sector, including at GlaxoSmithKline as President of the European Pharmaceutical Business and as CEO of Dynavax Technologies, a California biotechnology company. He was a Board member of Opportunity Now and a member of the Women’s Business Council, initiatives supporting furthering the contribution of women to business and economic growth. In 2024 he received an OBE for services to public health during Covid-19.


Michaela McAleer

Michaela McAleer is Chief Executive of the Pharmaceutical Society NI (pharmaceutical regulator). She was the Acting Deputy Commissioner for Local Government Standards and Acting Deputy Ombudsman at the Northern Ireland Public Services Ombudsman. Since 2018 she has investigated alleged breaches of the Code of Conduct for Northern Ireland Councillors and led the first ‘Own Investigation’ undertaken by a UK Ombudsman under new statutory powers introduced in April 2018. She is also a member of the Administrative Justice Council for the UK.


Brendan McGinty

Brendan McGinty was Editor of the Sunday Mail newspaper until January 2020 and now runs his own Glasgow-based consultancy, Finnieston Communications. His 25-year career in journalism included roles at the Dundee Courier, Edinburgh Evening News and Sunday Mirror.


Kavita Reddi

Kavita is the co-Founder of Voxta, an AI voice bot startup helping organisations in the UK and India work with new AI voice technologies. Before Voxta, she worked at the BBC for 14 years, including 8 years at Newsnight, where her series of films on BSE won Newsnight its first Bafta. She is also a member of the board of trustees of the University of London, and the digital publication, ‘The Conversation’.


Martin Trepte

Martin Trepte was formerly editor of the Maidenhead Advertiser and Windsor and Slough Express newspapers and has worked as a local newspaper journalist for more than 30 years. He is also involved with several grassroots charities and community organisations. In 2019 he was awarded the British Empire Medal for services to the newspaper industry and charity.


John Witherow

John Witherow is the chairman of Times Media. He has had a long career as an editor and correspondent. Until he stepped down in 2022, John was the longest serving national newspaper editor in Britain at The Times (from 2013) and The Sunday Times (from 1995).


Board documents

Board Member Register of Interests (July 2024)


Board member Code of Conduct


Board minutes